First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Lee Hewitt Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee Meeting Thursday, June 20, 2019, at 10:00 am Blatt Building Room 403

### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

 Chair Jay West calls the Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee to order on Thursday, June 20, 2019, in Room 403 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Subcommittee are present for all or a portion of the meeting.

#### Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Taylor moves to approve the meeting minutes from the May 7, 2019, meeting. The motion passes.

Representative Taylor's motion to approve the meeting minutes from the May 7, 2019, meeting.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (Absent)	Not Voting (Present)
Rep. Robert Ridgeway	$\checkmark$			
Rep. Bill Taylor	$\checkmark$			
Rep. Chris Wooten	$\checkmark$			
Rep. Jay West	$\checkmark$			

## Meeting

- I. Chair West explains that this is the Subcommittee's eighth meeting with the Department of Mental Health, and that the purpose is to continue to learn about community mental health services and begin discussing budget. He also gives a brief statement regarding a campaign contribution from HMR Veterans Services.
- II. Chair West explains that all testimony given to this subcommittee, which is an investigating committee, must be under oath. He reminds those sworn in during prior meetings that they remain under oath.
- III. Mark Binkley (Interim Director), Deborah Blalock (Dep Director Community Mental Health Services), and the below DMH staff provide testimony about community mental health services:
  - Christian Barnes-Young, Assistant Deputy Director, Division of Community Mental Health Services
  - > Margaret Meriwether, Program Director, School Mental Health Services
  - Dara Baril, Program Director, Office of Deaf Services (Josie McDaniel-Burkett & Larrysa Martin, interpreters)
  - Mallory Miller, Program Director, Toward Local Care & Community Crisis Programming
  - Michele Murff, Program Director, Housing & Homeless Programs
  - > Allison Farrell, Program Director, Justice-Involved Services; and
  - Amanda Gilchrist, Program Director, Community Crisis Response & Intervention.
- IV. Subcommittee members ask, and agency staff respond to questions about the following subjects:
  - a. School district financial contributions to school mental health services;
  - b. School mental health services outcomes;
  - c. Deaf services;
  - d. Employment services collaborations;
  - e. Collaboration with local law enforcement;
  - f. Agency review of screening tools;
  - g. Justice-involved programs;
  - h. Suicide prevention training;
  - i. Collaboration with the Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services;

- j. Community crisis programming;
- k. Telepsychiatry; and
- l. Future community mental health plans.
- V. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.